

## 49th AGM for Manx Wildlife Trust Thursday 28th July 2022, at Lloyds Bank, Douglas, 7.00pm

**Present**: Graham Makepeace-Warne, Rachel Harrop, Simon Cain, Sophie Pearce, Felicity Cain, Kim Etherton, Rachel Glover, Magnus Grinneback, Hannah Boyd, Anthony Boyd, Paul Thomas, Ian Davis, Joe Cant, Jean Buck, Viv Davis, Rachel Hartnoll, Richard Hartnoll, Andy Brand, Liz Brand, Richard Selmon, Andrew Johnston, Kerry Johnston, Steven Wright, Lucas Ameodo, Paul Etherton, Jackie Keenan, John Hunter, Philip Corlett, Marianne Kerruish, M. Maylott, Mary Brown, B. Osborne, John Bryant, Breeshey Harkin, Stephanie Foxton, Joe Maddrell, Leigh Morris (via zoom).

**Apologies**: Tony Thick, Stephen Linksfield, Nancy Clague, Marion Teare, Margaret Kelly, Helen and Roger Cave, Anne Minay, Nicky Watterson, Nigel and Caron Harrison, John Bethell, Roxie Walker, Hazel and Malcolm Hannan, Martyn Perkins, Roger Pullin.

**Welcome**: Simon Cain (Chair) welcomed everyone to this 49th AGM of MWT. Simon thanked Viv Davies for her term as Chair of MWT and for her years of contribution to MWT.

## **Ordinary Resolutions:**

- 1. Approval of the Minutes of the 48th AGM held on Thursday the 7<sup>th</sup> of October 2021. Proposer: Kim Etherton, Seconder: Rachel Glover. The minutes of the 48th AGM were unanimously approved.
- 2. Approval of the Annual Accounts for the year ended 31<sup>st</sup> January 2022. The accounts were presented by Leigh Morris (CEO) the full report available as an addendum. Proposer: Ian Davis, Seconder: Paul Thomas. The Annual Accounts for the year ended 31st January 2022 were unanimously approved.
- 3. Approval of the reappointment of Moore Stephens as auditors and their remuneration in such terms as shall be approved by Council.

Proposer: Anthony Boyd, Seconder: Ian Davis. The reappointment of Moore Stephens as auditors was unanimously approved.

- 4. Re-election of the following council members who have been co-opted onto Council since the last AGM:
  - Kier Powell-Lewis appointed 6<sup>th</sup> December 2021
  - Magnus Grinneback appointed 20<sup>th</sup> June 2022
  - Anthony Boyd appointed 25<sup>th</sup> July 2022

Proposer: Sally Bolton, Seconder: Stephanie Foxton. The re-election of the council members was unanimously approved.



- 5. Re-election of the following members of Council, being those subject to re-election by rotation having already served on Council for 3 years:
  - Kim Etherton
  - Dr Rachel Glover

Proposer: John Hunter, Seconder: Graham Makepeace-Warne. The re-election of the council members was unanimously approved.

## 6. Chairman's Report

Simon Cain presented his report and the full report available as an addendum.

## 7. Chief Executive Officer's Report

Leigh Morris presented his report and the full report available as an addendum.

- 8. Any other business: questions were raised as follows:
- a) John Bryant asked which advisors are used when MWT negotiates a price for land acquisition. Leigh Morris responded that this is done on a case-by-case basis and in the last acquisition it was done on advice of the Trustees and land agent.
- b) John Bryant asked what would put our biosphere status in danger. Leigh Morris responded that we should not be complacent and MWT are well placed to support projects in line with maintaining and enhancing the biosphere.
- 11. Simon Cain thanked all for attending and the meeting ended at 19.55 pm.